Off Duty Mom

Thoughts from an exhausted mom who is NEVER really "off duty"

A Happy Day

Things that are sad:

-Puppy dogs frowning while Sarah McLachlan music plays and she begs you to give money to the frowny puppies so that they won’t live with people who make them so frowny.

-Me immediately signing up to give money to the frowny puppies because I am that impressionable.

-Lindsay Lohan wrecking her car.  Again.  Honey, get a chauffeur, already.  Poor little rich girl.

-Running out of wine.  (like here).

-War.  Famine.  Wildfires.  Mean people.

Things that are happy:

-Winning another Liebster Award!

-Rainbows, smiley puppy dogs, and the way my son feels in my arms after a bath, all wrapped up in a towel smelling of  lavender.

But, for the sake of argument, let’s go ahead and focus on that LIEBSTER AWARD!

Thanks so much to Kathy V. from Don’t Forget to Feed the Baby.  I am again honored to be recognized for my writing.  This made my day.  I am at work at a job I don’t really love and today is my baby’s 1st birthday.  So, I’d obviously rather not be here.  Seeing that I have won a prize, though, makes me a little more pleased to have logged on to a computer today.

Here are some other blogs you should check out.  I have, in turn (and according to the rules [because I ALWAYS follow rules]), nominated some other fabulous writers:

-Tragic Sandwich

-Momma Be Thy Name

-An Idealist Thinker

-Charly Walker

-Mega Momma Musings

Many thanks to all of my readers for your support.  I appreciate every single visit you make to this site.  And, I am truly honored when one of you selects me to recognize for one of the blogging awards out there.  When I began blogging, I didn’t imagine this many people would find their way to me and enjoy reading the ridiculousness spewed from my brain.

And, incidentally, if you’re interested in learning more about the frowny puppies (or, more seriously, about how you can help provide comfort and relief for pets who have been abused and abandoned), please visit the ASPCA official website:  http://www.aspca.org/.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “A Happy Day

  1. Congrats! And happy birthday off duty baby!

  2. You deserve it! Especially if you’ve been having a lot of days full of frowny puppies and no wine. Sad.

    • Both are sad, indeed. I wonder if they make those hats people wear at football games with pockets for two beer cans and a straw leading to your mouth adaptable for wine bottles? I’d never be out, then. It would be like a wine IV.

  3. Thank you! And as for this: “I am at work at a job I don’t really love and today is my baby’s 1st birthday.” I felt that this year on Baguette’s second birthday. I had asked if I could leave an hour early that day, and was told, “Well, you’ll have to make up that time.” So I understand that today is extra tough, and we can keep each other company.

    But today is also extra good–happy birthday to your baby!

  4. Congrats and thanks for the nomination! It’s so weird to think that people are interested in my silly musings :)

  5. Congrats! Hope you are having a much deserved glass of vino! :)

  6. Congrats! Happy birthday to your little one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 903 other followers

