Off Duty Mom

Thoughts from an exhausted mom who is NEVER really "off duty"

She’s Crafty, or, “How Pinterest Saved my Life”

Where have you been all my life?

   Honestly, I have no idea how I lived a reasonable life before Pinterest came into my world.

It occurred to me some time ago that the main cause of Disgruntled Mom Syndrome (or DMS) stems from a vacuous feeling of loss of self and a nagging wonder when one might ever have anything of one’s own ever again. Anyone who is a caregiver can get DMS. The causes are well known: you need only have an earth-shaking priority shift from your own, happily selfish life to a life that will not allow you to make your own schedule or have your own interests. Many people who care for children, elderly relatives or disabled family members may feel the effects of DMS. It is often just too hard to find the time and energy to fix cars, paint, dance, jog, yodel, meditate or whittle wood once your primary focus in life is to look after others.

But, there’s hope!

Have you heard about this thing called the Internet? There are, like, a bunch of ideas out there to help you remember yourself again. You can be online while rocking a baby to sleep (like I am right now). You may find that you stumble across some things you might think would be fun to do, make, read or see “when and if you could find the time.”

But, I always assumed I’d never get that time to myself, or I’d forget all of those fun ideas or I’d decide to use any found spare time for Jello shots or sleep. Either one would typically make me more pleasant to be around afterward.

Now, though, I “pin” the cute ideas and don’t beat myself up if I can’t or don’t get around to them. But, when I do have some time, I check my pinboard every now and again. In many cases, I can be inspired at least to start a fun craft or plan a delicious meal for another day. Pretty soon, these small chunks of “me time” have given me my sense of self back. and, before I know it, I’ve made my own glitter shoes and read “The Fountainhead” (but not at the same time).

Tonight, we shall feast on Chicken Tagine. Epicurious gave it 5 stars. And I wouldn’t have even heard about it had it not been for Pinterest. Of course, if it sucks, then I will be back with another blog about how Pinterest will poison your family and ruin your life. I will let ya know.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “She’s Crafty, or, “How Pinterest Saved my Life”

  1. Oh my gosh this is so true! I have actually used it too! Mostly for recipes but also for crafts and science experiments for with the kids. Love it!

  2. Pingback: More on Pinterest, and, My how to loan a kindle book « Katy Stuff

Leave a Reply

