Off Duty Mom

Thoughts from an exhausted mom who is NEVER really "off duty"

Day 4 of the Whole Life Challenge, or Please Make it Stop

I actually kind of fucking hate this challenge.

For those of you who do not know, the Whole Life Challenge is an 8-week fitness, health and wellness program that challenges you to treat your body well.  You are encouraged to eat right, get good sleep, drink lots of water, stretch, work out and be well.  There is a list of foods you can and cannot eat.  Let me break it down for you:  you can eat, like, celery.  You cannot eat any of the things that make you happy (dairy, soy, gluten, sugar, alcohol, soda, chocolate, etc.).

Today I am especially grumpy and I really want to quit.  Like, a whole lot.  But, I won’t, even though water tastes like unhappiness.  Yes, I have tried “detox waters” and I have put lemon in my bottle and, no, it doesn’t fucking help.  If it isn’t Diet Coke or beer, I don’t really want it.  While I am allowed one glass of wine per week, that doesn’t do much to make me feel better.  I haven’t partaken in this for the first week yet because I am afraid to waste it, should a day arise where I need that small glass of comfort later in the week.  But, nevertheless, it is not Diet Coke, nor is it beer, so it will only be a small comfort.

Look — I am terribly overweight and I need to take better care of my children’s mother.  For far too long I have sought asylum within the beautiful confines of junk food and chemical additives.  It is no good at all.  But, I wonder if this is any way to live.  A long life without chocolate is not necessarily a better life, amirite?

Everyone keeps telling me that it will get better.  But, my muscles hurt from my workout, my tastebuds are mad at me and I am tired despite getting enough sleep.  I want to curl up in a ball and feel sorry for myself.

So, there is your little ray of sunshine from me today!  Please comment and tell me something happy in your life so I can live vicariously through you.  Or comment with a picture of french fries or with a story of how fit and healthy you are so I can be happy for/hate  you…

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 4 of the Whole Life Challenge, or Please Make it Stop

  1. Great job for starting the challenge and sticking with it! I don’t think your feelings are abnormal. The amazing benefits of eating healthier, while a fantastic list, do lack in the immediate awesomeness of tasty food we are used to. I haven’t done WLC, but I’ve done Whole 30, and around this point I *may* have started yelling at the person who dragged me into it every time I spoke to her. 🙂

    • Thanks for the support! I don’t normally eat a terribly unhealthy diet as it is, so I really thought this would be easier. I miss Diet Coke something fierce. And, I am struggling a bit because it seems like everything has to be made from scratch in order to be compliant. I love to cook, but I don’t love spending all my time doing it!

Leave a Reply

